Kerala: LDF ministry sworn in

Pinarai Vijayan taking oath as Chief Minister of Kerala

Thiruvananthapuram: A 19-member Left Democratic Front (LDF) ministry headed by CPI (M) polit bureau member Pinarai Vijayan was sworn in here on Wednesday.

Governor P. Sathasivam administered the oath of office and secrecy to the Chief Minister designate and minister designates.

Mr. Vijayan took the oaths first followed by leaders of the parliamentary parties of LDF constituents – E. Chandrasekharan (CPI), Mathew T. Thomas (JD-S), A. K. Saseendran (NCP) and Ramachandran Kadannappally (Congress-S). They were followed by other minister designates in the alphabetical order.

Mathew T. Thomas, Ramachandran Kadannappally and K. T. Jaleel took the oaths in the name of God. Other took solemn oaths.

The ceremony took place in front of a packed audience at the Central Stadium. It was attended by political leaders at the national and State level and religious and cultural leaders, officials and other dignitaries. CPI (M) leaders V.S.Achutanandan, Sitaram Yechury and Parakash Karat were among those present besides former Prime Minister H. D. Deve Gowda.

Outgoing Chief Minister Oommen Chandy and BJP leader O. Rajagopal were also present.

As per understanding reached in the LDF, the following are the portfolios proposed to be allocated the ministers.( The Chief Minister retains Home and Vigilance and Information Technology besides General Administration and other subjects. )

E. Chandrasekharan (CPI) – Revenue
Mathew T. Thomas (JD-S)– Water Resources
Ramachandran Kadakampally (Congress-S) – Ports
A. K. Saseendran (NCP) – Transport.
A. K. Balan (CPI-M) - Law, Culture and Welfare of Backward Classes
K. T. Jaleel (LDF independent) – Local Self Government
E. P. Jayarajan (CPI-M) – Industries and Sports
Kadakampally Surendran (CPI-M) – Electricity and  Devaswom
J. Mercykutty Amma (CPI-M)  – Fisheries and traditional industries
A. C. Moideen (CPI-M) – Cooperation and Tourism
K. Raju (CPI) – Forest and Wildlife
T. P. Ramakrishnan (CPI-M) – Excise and Labour
C. Ravaeendranath (CPI-M) – Education
K. K. Shylaja – Health and Social Welfare
G. Sudhakaran (CPI-M) – Public Works and Registration
V. S. Sunil Kumar (CPI) – Agriculture
P. Thilothaman (CPI) – Food and Civil Supplies
T. M. Thomas Isaac (CPI-M) – Finance