LDF wins 7 of 15 seats in by-elections to local bodies

Thiruvananthapuram: The LDF has won seven seats in the by-elections held in 15 wards of local self-governments in 11 districts of the State on Thursday. The UDF won in five seats and BJP in three.

The UDF could retain control of Kasaragod district panchayat as UDF candidate Shanawaz Padur won the by-election from Uduma ward. The Front would have lost majority if it candidate had failed to win.

BJP wrested the Parambukara ward in Manarkkad grama panchayat in Kottayam district from Congress. Sindhu Korattikunnel won there with a margin of 198 votes. In Thiruvanthapuram Corporation, the BJP candidate Asanath won the by election from Pappanamcode for 35 votes.

In Palamel grama pancyat of Alappuzha district, the LDF wrested the Adikkattukulangara seat. UDF wrested the Sreenarayanapuram seat from LDF in Kodungallur panchayat.