Persons with criminal background have majority in Assembly

Assembly gatesThe number of members with criminal background will be increasing in the Kerala Assembly.

As many as 87 of the newly-elected members have criminal cases against them. The cases against 27 of them are of serious nature such as those related to murder, attempt to murder and kidnapping.

Pinarai Vijayan to be Chief Minister of Kerala

The CPI (M) named Pinarai Vijayan for the Chief Ministership of Kerala on Friday.
Pinarai VijayanCPI (M) general secretary Sitaram Yechuri told a media conference after a meeting of the State Secretariat and State Committee here that the party had taken a decision to propose Mr. Vijayan as the Chief Minister.

Noting that veteran leader V. S. Achuthanandan led the election campaign from the front, the general secretary said that Mr. Achuthanandan was not chosen to head the government considering his age and physical limitations.

Performance of Political Parties in 2011 and 2016

Kerala Assembly Elections

Performance of Political Parties in 2011 and 2016

Political Party No. of Candidates in 2011

LDF storms to power in Kerala

CPI (M) flagThe Left Democratic Front (LDF) has stormed to power in Kerala winning nearly two thirds of the seats in the Kerala Assembly elections.

The LDF won 91 seats and the Congress-led United Democratic Front 47 seats in the 140-member Assembly.

The BJP opened account for the first time in the State with former Union Minister of State O. Rajagopal winning from Nemom constituency. The BJP-led National Democratic Front was runner up in seven other constituencies.

Former UDF Chief Whip P. C. George won from Poonjar fighting the three fronts as an independent. His margin is as high as 27821 where as his nearest opponent Georgekutty Augusty (UDF) could poll only 35800 votes. Of the four film actors who contested, Mukesh won in Kollam while Jagdeesh and Bhimen Ragu were defeated by K. B. Ganesh Kumar.  Television anchor Veena George won while M. V. Nikeshkumar lost. (updated story)


Subscribe to RSS - Elections