LSG polls: 75000 candidates in the fray

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: As many as 75549 candidates are in the arena as the time for withdrawal of nominations in the elections to local self governments ended on Saturday.

An official release said that 1282 candidates were in the field in the election to 14 district panchayats. The number of candidates contesting the polls to 86 municipalities and six municipal corporations are 10433 and 1963 respectively.

Elections to local bodies notified

Trivandrum city corporationKerala State Election Commission today notified elections to the local self governments in the State.
The polling is to be held in two stages— on November 2 and 5.

Hat trick by Chief Minister Oommen Chandy

Sabarinadhan with Chief MinisterIt was a hat-trick victory for Kerala Chief Minister Oommen Chandy and the ruling Front in Aruvikkara Assembly constituency in June this year. The United Democratic Front (UDF) had won by-elections earlier at Neyyattinkara and Piravom after Mr. Chandy came to power in 2011.


Subscribe to RSS - Elections