Assembly elections: BJP prepares first list of candidates

BJP flagThiruvananthapuram: The Bharatiya Janata Party has drawn up its first list of 22 candidates for the Assembly elections. This list is subject to approval by the Central leadership.

Party State president Kummanam Rajasekharan said in Thiruvananthapuram on Sunday that the party would finalising its candidates in three stages. Next list will be drawn up in the next few days and third list within a week.

He said that party would be contesting the Assembly elections as a front— National Democratic Front. Further talks on seat sharing with constituents would commence shortly.

The first list is understood to have names of O. Rajagopal (Nemom), V. Muraleedharan (Kazhakkoottam), Kummanam Rajasekharan (Vattiyoorkavu),M. T. Ramesh (Aranmula), K. Surendran (Manjeswaram), Shobha Surendran (Palakkad), George Kurian (Puthuppally), and P. S. Sreedharan Pillai (Cehngannur).