JD (S) list - Jose Thettayil fails to get ticket

Jose ThettayilThiruvananthapuram:  The candidates list announced by Janata Dal (Secular) today leaves out sitting member Jose Thettayil. The former Minister will be replaced by Benny Munjeli (former chairman of Ankamali municipality) in Ankamali constituency.

The other candidates are: Chittoor- K. Krishnankutty, Kovalam- Jameela Prakasam, Thiruvalla-Mathew T. Thomas, Vadakara- C. K. Nanu.

The list was declared following meeting of party leadership at the national level in Delhi. The central leadership had received complaints against Mr. Thettayil who faced allegations about improper sexual behaviour. The party district committee had also recommended against his candidature.

(An earlier version of this report had wrongly mentioned JD(S) as JD (U). It stands corrected.)