Rebellion in the CPI over choice of ministers

Election Poster of C. DivakaranThiruvananthapuram: The CPI is facing rebellion over choice of its ministers in Kerala.

Senior leaders Mullakkara Ratnakaran and C. Divakaran protested against the party proposing four new faces for ministership in the LDF ministry. The proposed names are that of V. S. Sunil Kumar, P. Thilothaman, E. Chanddrasekharan and K. Raju

Mr. Ratnakaran threatened that he would quit all posts in the party in protest against the decision of the party executive against his inclusion in the ministry. Mr. Divakaran said that he would wait for his time before responding.

Party general secretary Kanam Rajendran said that it was not the first time that the party was selecting new faces for ministership. It had done the same in 2006. All those selected then, which included Mr. Ratnakaran and Divakaran, were new faces.

The Central leadership of the party has also come out in support of the decision of the State unit.

Meanwhile, the CPI (M) has come to an understanding on the portfolios for its ministers pending approval of the State Committee. The following are portfolio allocation proposed:

Chief Minister Pinarai Vijayan—General Administration, Home and Vigilance; T. M. Thomas Isaac – Finance; E. P. Jayarajan—Industries, G. Sudhakaran--Public Works, C. Raveendranath – Education,  A. K. Balan – Local Self Government and  Scheduled Tribes Development, T. P. Ramakrishnan – Excise and Ports, J. Mercykutty Amma – Fisheries and Ports, K. Shylaja – Health and Social Welfare, Kadakampally Surendran – Electricity and K. T. Jaleel – Tourism.