Vellappally begins march from Kasaragod

Samatwa Munneta YatraSNDP general secretary Vellappally Natesan began his Samatawa Munnetta Yatra from Kasaragod today.

The march is being undertaken towards formation of a political party in protest against “injustice to the majority community”. There is also plan to form a third front with BJP and others.

Committee appointed to probe malfunctioning of EVMs

The State Election Commission has appointed a high level technical committee to probe the malfunctioning of electronic voting machines in Malappuram and Thrissur districts.

Move to amend RTI Act raises concerns

RTIThe General Administration (Coordination) Department, Kerala, has sent a circular to all heads of departments and offices and collectors seeking information on problems in the implementation of Right to Information Act (RTI) towards amending the Act. This has raised some concerns among RTI activists in the State.

Chandy to attend swearing-in of Nitish Kumar

Nitish KumarKerala Chief Minister Oommen Chandy will be attending the oath-taking of Nitish Kumar as Chief Minister of Bihar on Friday.

Beyond courtesy, it has political implications. Mr. Chandy has released an article, to be published in newspapers on Friday to coincide with the swearing-in, describing the victory of Grand Alliance as one against communalism and fascism.

LDF and UDF get presidents in 7 district panchayats each

Thiruvananthapuram: The UDF and LDF won the presidentships of seven district panchayats each in Kerala in the elections held on Thursday. The Congress and CPI (M) got presidentships of five panchayats each while the CPI and Muslim League won two each.

The Kasaragod district panchayat council elected A.G.C. Basheer (Muslim League) as chairman as the BJP councillors abstained from voting. Karayi Rajan (CPI-M)), accused in the Fazal murder case, was chosen as president of Kannur district panchayat.


Subscribe to News and Views RSS